Recent Searches
Clear

The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb

|
Badge of Excellence
|
RM, Italy
The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

From US$110.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Begin your Vatican experience a little differently with a climb up the dome of St. Peter's Basilica with a guide. After getting sweeping views of Vatican City and Rome beyond, proceed inside for a guided tour of the church itself, the Vatican Museums, and the Sistine Chapel. This half-day tour takes place in the morning, before much of the crowds arrive at the Vatican.
  • Save time with skip-the-line Vatican tickets
  • Sweeping views of Rome from St. Peter's Basilica dome
  • Comprehensive tour of the basilica, Vatican Museums, and Sistine Chapel
  • Art historian guide provides in-depth commentary
Saved to wishlist!
St. Peter's Dome Climb to the top of Michelangelo's Cupola for truly amazing views of Rome!
Get into the Vatican Museums fast with our no lines priority access ticket and a local expert guide
Catch all the classic and ancient sculptures inside world famous chambers, halls and galleries
Immersive Sistine Chapel inside experience and a panel-by-panel tour of Michelangelo's ceiling
Full tour of entire St. Peter's Basilica covering all the major works of art and sculpture therein
Tour of little-known Papal Sarcophagi beneath St. Peter's Basilica which we call "Vatacombs"
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities
Largo del Colonnato, 1 , Largo del Colonnato, 1, 00193 Roma RM, Italy

Meet at 745am for 8am departure by the Tiare fountain (Fontana delle Tiare), just beneath Largo del Colonnato and in front of the pillars which run around Saint Peter's Square. · Your guide will be holding a When in Rome Tours signboard. Google maps link: https://goo.gl/maps/vZvCNgmmozFLnzT3A

8:00 AM
Piazza Papa Pio XII , Piazza Papa Pio XII, Roma RM, Italy

The tour concludes on St. Peter's Square beside St. Peter's Basilica.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • On days immediately surrounding religious holidays at the Vatican, alterations to tours may become necessary due to partial closings of areas normally included in this tour. In the event that the Papal tombs beneath St. Peter's Basilica are closed, the tour of the Basilica itself will be extended and no refunds made
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Maximum 20 travelers on this tour, hand sanitizer made available (we will provide), mandatory mask-wearing on the tour (bring your own)
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY When In Rome Tours by Italia Tours llc
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It was very hot but it was 90 out side skip the li e is a must as the wait was at least 2 hours or more in the hot sun ." See review
  • "The Climb to the top with "When in Rome Tours" is highly recommended, even by grandma!" See review
  • "Give yourself time to walk to the meeting point for Vatican museum and Sistine chapel tour." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
371 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 371 reviews
star-5
Fantastic
John_F
, Jun 2022
Climbing the dome and the sculptures in the vatican city and the sistein chapel and rhe Sphere and the prayer hall inside the vatican
star-5
Good tour
John_C
, Jun 2022
Very enjoyable. 3rd vatican tour I've been on. I always like having a tour guide to show you all the little details you have missed if you were on your own.
star-5
Complete experience in Vatican City
EdgarIvan_P
, Jun 2022
Our Guide was Paulo. He took us to climb the dome, took us to the Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel. Loved the tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Marianne was fabulous!
Marina_A
, Jun 2022
Although my group was hard to find in the beginning, my guide knew I was lost & thankfully I arrived early enough to not be late. Marianne was knowledgeable, fun, and made the history entertaining. Definitely worth it!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Marina, thank you for taking your time to write this review! Marianne is just amazing, and we are pleased that you wrote such delightful things about her! Best regards
star-5
Fantastic guide
Stephani_S
, Jun 2022
Paolo our tour guide was fantastic! He was quick moving and gave great insight into all we were seeing. Also very funny and made the entire tour a blast.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear customer, thanks a lot for writing this review! It is very important for us to know that our visitors had such a good experience! Have a great day! Kind regards
star-3
Mediocre experience. Not really the VIP experience.
ThuyDung_D
, Jun 2022
Too crowded. The whole tour was congested with people. The “VIP” tour didn’t really save you time. Most of our time was spent waiting in line. I certainly didn’t feel like a VIP nor did I skip any line. Not very enjoyable.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Thuy, Thanks for taking the time to write this review of your tour. I would however like to point out that nowhere in the tour description to we refer to this tour as VIP. Secondly, the fact that the Vatican Museums are overcrowded, as you can imagine, is completely beyond the control of any tour operator. After 2 years of a global pandemic, many tourists like yourself have chosen to come to Rome this year. The result is major crowding at ALL the monuments, not just the Vatican. To experience a semi private VIP experience in the Sistine Chapel in peak season, you would have to spend several thousand euros. I do hope that your trip to Rome was nonetheless enjoyable!
star-5
Wonderful
Darlene_T
, Jun 2022
We truly enjoyed this tour. Paolo was wonderful! My only regret was that this did not last longer-I could have stayed at the Vatican ALL DAY! Thank you for a great time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Darlene, It warms our heart to read that our visitors had such a great time! Thank you so much for sharing your feelings with us. We hope that you can come back to Rome very soon! Kindest regards
star-5
A must
Silvina_W
, Jun 2022
Sandra was amazing!!! They were in time at the right place and fast. The first part of the tour was the best. We first climbed the St Peter’s Basilica dome. 310 steps and super narrow but so worth it. The views of the city were amazing. The we went inside the Basilica and it was breathtaking. Then we had a pit an hour and 30 min for lunch and we went around the wall for the second tour of the museums and the Sistine Chapel. The art was amazing and the Sistine chapel as well. It was crowded as it was Saturday but still amazing and Sandra did great.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear customer, The stunning beauty of the Vatican Museums attracts lots of tourists, and that might be uncomfortable, but, as you said, the art is just breathtaking! Plus, with a guide as skilled and funny and Sandra is, a visit turns into a positive - and, we hope, unforgettable - experience, as it happened to you! Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review! Kindest regards
star-5
Great time
Glenn_K
, Jun 2022
Very beautiful the while tour was amazing our guide very knowledgeable and friendly really took the time to make sure we seen everything possible.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Glenn, thanks a lot for this review! We are glad to read that you had a great time with your guide! Best regards
star-5
Very informative
Heidi_M
, Jun 2022
Massimo is the best! He was engaging and knowledgeable. He really made the tour entertaining. This tour does a great job of covering so much information about all of the different areas of the Vatican. It was also nice to have a break in the middle so we could rest. I personally skipped the dome climb part but my spouse enjoyed the view from the top. This was such an amazing experience, and so much better with all of the information I learned on the tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Heidi, Thank you so much for taking your time to write this enthousiastic review! We are glad to read that you appreciated every single part of the tour, your positive feedback means a lot to us! The feeling of getting to know deeply our cultural heritage, above all when this is possible thanks to amazing people like Massimo, is a real gift! Warmest regards
star-5
Amazing View of Vatican Square from Atop St. Peter's Dome. 8am Tour is best to avoid the summer heat and crowds.
Jimmy_E
, Jun 2022
Paolo gave us an amazing tour of Vatican, Sistine Chapel with a climb to the top of St. Peter's Dome. Do this tour early to avoid the crowds and heat during the summer months, we did the 8am tour which was perfect. Lots of stairs but so worth it, just take your time and enjoy the view. There was no rush. Again, Thanks Paolo.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jimmy, thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us! We are glad to read that you loved every part of this tour! Warmest regards
star-5
Beyond words, was wonderful
Jean_S
, Jun 2022
The whole experience was incredible. Awesome Feel humbled and privileged to have seen the sculptures and history in the Vatican, St Petere Dome and the Sistine Chapel. Sandra the tour guide is by far the best I have ever come across. Her knowledge was brilliant, she was enthusiastic and made everything so interesting
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jean, thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us. The infinite treasures of the Vatican are definitely unique, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed them even more thanks to our amazing Sandra! It warms our hearts to know that we can offer such a great experience to our visitors! Warmest regards
star-5
Awesome
Tracy_L
, Jun 2022
St Peter's was so beautiful!! We completed the dome climb which was really neat. It was a lot easier than anticipated. I would complete this tour again when in Rome. I suggest going early in the morning as the lines can get long fast. It also allows you to take pictures without having to navigate around a lot of people.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Tracy, first of all, thank you so much for taking your time to write this detailed and positive review! We schedule this tour so early in the morning just to make sure that our visitors can enjoy their visit before the site becomes too crowdy. We are glad to read that this decision provided you such a great experience and great pictures - we hope they help you to keep this memory with you forever. Kindest regards
star-5
Awesome!
Georgia_S
, Jun 2022
Paola was an excellent guide. She was very knowledgeable and super prompt!!! She was awesome!!!!!! I would recommend this tour to those who like to walk and can achieve 300+ stairs to get to the top of the basilica. The dome climb stairs and walkways are VERY narrow. Totally worth it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear customer, Your enthusiasm makes us so happy! The walk to the top of the Basilica is definitely challenging, but, as you said, totally worth it! And a great guide as Paola surely makes everything better! Thank you so much for your enthusiasm! Kind regards
star-5
Great tour I really recommend it.
Roland_C
, Jun 2022
Each part of the tour was great and unbelievable experience. Sistine Chapel, view from top of the Dome, St. Peter Basilica and Vatican Museum something I will never forget in my life. You must see all of that at least once in your lifetime. One advice, book your tour as early morning as possible, we were one of the first tours almost no waiting time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Roland, thank you so much for you enthusiastic and kind review! Reading what you felt while admiring some of the world's most beautiful sites really touched us! You are right when you recommend to book an early tour - the low amount of people is exactly why we schedule this tour so early in the morning. It is always a pleasure to read that our choices get positive feedbacks from our visitors! Warmest regards
star-4
A Vatican Tour to Remember
George_H
, Jun 2022
The tour overall was great, the St. Peter's Basilica and dome climb outstanding and pictures/views are memorable. What did surprise me was break in between the Basilica part and Vatican museum and Sistine Chapel of almost 45mins. The guide was asked if we could just continue and we where told the break was mandatory. Unfortunately, that break slow to a crawl the final parts of the tour due to the number people converging on the final tour destinations.. The tour guide was great with his indepth knowledge and professionalism.. I would recommend this tour..
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear customer, thank you for taking your time to write this review and for recommending this tour! The Vatican City is just stunning and we are happy that you were so amazed by its wonders. The break between the Basilica and the Museums is specified in the tour description. It was necessary to insert it, both for the wellbeing of the visitors - the tour is very long, and a break surely helps to make it pleasant and not exhausting - and for the guides, so that they take their time to rest, and provide a good performance for the second part too! Vatican Museums are very crowded these days - we all couldn't wait to travel again after two years of restrictions! And we understand that this might be uncomfortable, but this happens when a museum contains so many masterpieces! We hoped you loved Sistine Chapel, Gallery of Tapestries and all the beautiful artworks of this site! We are glad that you managed to enjoy your experience and wish you a great day! Kind regards
star-5
The tour guide was great....
Eric_C
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was great. We really enjoyed him. He was very informative & funny. He made the tour fun.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Eric, thank you for this positive review! We are glad to read that you got to know our amazing heritage while having fun! Kind regards
star-3
Would not recommend
Aaron_B
, Jun 2022
Very overpriced for what you get. The view from St Peter's dome was not all that good and pretty much the same view you can get from the windows of the museum. Also, the "entire Vatican" title of the tour is rather misleading as you see the same main attractions you can get with a much cheaper ticket.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Aaron, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your tour. I think it is important to point out that everything you read in the tour description is exactly as delivered in the tour. Ie, sites listed as included vs excluded. In two 2-hour segments, we visit many many unforgettable sites that most people wish to see at the Vatican. Naturally, it is one of the largest collections in the world and seeing it all in just one half day is impossible. We're sorry that our tour did not meet your expectations.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Mama Sabrina
Jeff_G
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide "Mama Sabrina" was excellent, knowledgeable, and funny. View from the top of St. Peter's was breathtaking. It was worth the climb to the top. I recommend an early morning climb. Less busy then. I would not want to do it in the heat of a summer afternoon. If you have issues with tight spaces and lot's of spiral stairs do not do this tour. We had no issues so we enjoyed it. Tour of the Catherdral was excellent and had lots to look at. The musuem was extremely busy but "Mama Sabrina"did a good job moving us through the crowd. Last bit of advice; go as early as you can to avoid the crowds and heat. Bring water and remember don't just take pictures, make sure to enjoy what you're seeing.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jeff, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so happy to read that you appreciated both the beauty of the sites and the job that "Mama Sabrina" did! We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Marie Anne was very good,...
Stephanie_T
, Jun 2022
Marie Anne was very good, speaks multiples languages, explained the history of the Vaticane very well. I recommend booking the tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for this review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed this experience! Kind regards

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb
Likely to Sell Out
The Original Entire Vatican Tour & St. Peter's Dome Climb

star-5369

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$110.00

star-591

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$55.00

star-5101

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$99.00

star-4.5306

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$75.00

star-4.5142

4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$125.00

star-4.558

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$65.00

star-5584

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$104.66

star-4.5104

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$41.86
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations