Recent Searches
Clear

Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour

star-4.5246 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Firenze, Italy
Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 10 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Get inside one of Florence's best-known buildings on this skip-the-line guided tour of the Duomo, including its famous dome. Climb to the top of the Cupola to enjoy spectacular views over Florence and to see Vasari's beautiful frescoes up close.
  • Skip-the-line tour of the cathedral and dome in Florence
  • Climb into the iconic dome of the Florence Duomo to see its amazing construction
  • See Vasari frescoes and stained glass windows up close
  • Enjoy incredible views over the city from the top of the dome
  • Get a tour of the cathedral's interior after visiting the dome
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide for the Dome
Headset
Entrance Reserved Tickets Valid for 72h
With the ticket you can enter the Dome, Bell Tower, Baptistery, Museum and Crypt
Lunch
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Porta della Mandorla (Almond Door) , Piazza del Duomo, 15r, 50129 Firenze FI, Italy

Meeting Point is Porta della Mandorla

This activity will end right where it started.
Meet your guide outside the dome's entrance and bypass the often-long queue with your skip-the-line ticket.

As you climb the 463 steps to the top of the cathedral's dome, learn about how the construction of the egg-shaped Cupola wasn't done until long after the cathedral was otherwise finished—leaving a gaping hole in the building for decades. Filippo Brunelleschi's revolutionary design for the dome within a dome is still widely revered among architects and was the largest dome in the world at the time it was completed.

From inside the dome, enjoy a wonderful view of parts of the cathedral you don't normally get to see—including Vasari's 'Last Judgement' frescoes—as well as spectacular views outside the cathedral overlooking the historic city of Florence.

Climb back down from the dome with your guide for a brief guided visit inside the cathedral itself to conclude the tour. Admire its Gothic interior, designed by Arnolfo di Cambio and Brunelleschi.

Please note: Most of the time on this tour is spent in the dome with a brief tour of the cathedral at the end. Your ticket allows you to stay in the cathedral after the tour concludes, and also gives you entry to the Baptistery and the Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (no skip-the-line access for those). There is no skip-the-line entry for the Duomo from November 1-March 31.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Cupola del Brunelleschi
Climb 463 steps to go to the top of the Dome and enjoy a 360 degree stunning panorama over the whole city... breathtaking!!!
Duration: 1 hour 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Visitors are required to climb 463 steps. No elevator available
  • The climb is not advised for people suffering from heart diseases/problems, vertigo and claustrophobia
  • ACCESS to the complex and VISIT TIMES may be subject to changes due to extraordinary events and depending on the guidelines of the Opera del Duomo
  • Rain policy: the tour may be cancelled due to rain, Alternatively, clients will be offered to join the Duomo Complex Tour on the same day at the same price
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • For children's reductions a valid I.D. is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • MANDATORY USE OF MASK AND LATEX GLOVES
  • GUIDED TOUR INCLUDED IN THE RELATED OFFER
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY ACCORD Italy Smart Tours & Experiences
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Wear good shoes, easy climb but avoid if heights are a issue." See review
  • "Also, if you have a fear of heights or claustrophobia, this tour may not be for you." See review
  • "The climb of 463 steps gets steep and narrow sometimes, but there are a few breaks along the way." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
246 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 246 reviews
star-5
Beautiful dome journey lies ahead
Jennifer_R
, Jun 2022
Wonderful knowledge sharing of the history, architecture and artistry by our sweet and lovely guide Viktoria . This tour is not for the faint of heart, a lot of stairs (almost 600) and in tight conditions. But the dome artwork is beautiful and the view from the top spectacular.
star-4
Great tour!
MARIAH_B
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was amazing and the view was incredible. If you don’t like steep tight spaces though be wary it gets steep walking to the top.
star-2
Waste of money
Orlee_U
, Jun 2022
Don’t waste your money on this tour. The guiding is non existant - no explanations, no consideration of his guests. All he did was led the way - an idiot could have done this
star-3
Gorgeous view
Caroline_O
, Jun 2022
Knowledgeable tour guide, didn’t actually skip the line but didn’t have to wait long. It’s a beautiful view, definitely do the trip!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Carolin, thank you for leaving us your review. Your opinion is always very important to us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and that as per product you did not have to wait to enter the Cathedral and enjoy the beautiful view from the top of the dome! Thank you for your feedback We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-5
our guide was great
Bala_K
, Jun 2022
The guide was on time waiting and greeting us at the location. She climbed the dome with us explaining the history behind the the construction of the dome.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for leaving us your review, Bala! It's well appreciated and having our clients feedback is very important to help us improving our service. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Dome and our guide! We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-2
Rude guide cut in front of people.
Jeanne_S
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was late and the “skip the line part” was apparently the tour guide cutting the huge line of people who were already in line with their timed tickets. She asked them what time they had and then just put our group of six in the line ahead of people. Very rude and uncomfortable. We left after this. The ticket did get us in to the other sites of the church and babtistry and museum so it wasn’t a total wash. But the guided tour part was a fail.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jeanne_S, thank you for your review! Sorry for the delay of our guide, something must have happened that did not allow him/her to arrive on time. As far as our guide's behaviour towards the other people in the queue, you should know that the entrances to the dome are very very strict, past the appointed time the door is closed. If the guide gone ahead it is because she/he realised that those people had bought the entrance after yours, you should be happy that the guide asserted your right to enter in the right time. However, in high seasons it is difficult to move around in front of the entrance and chaotic moments can occour. We do our best to offer the best service, thanks again, your opinion is always very important. Kind regards Accord Team
star-5
Worth the climb
Jennifer_G
, Jun 2022
Worth the climb! Views from the top and inside the dome were amazing and our guide, Valentina, was excellent and very knowledgeable.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jennifer, thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed our service and our guide Valentina 😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards Accord Team
star-2
Cancelled Tour
Mark_M
, Jun 2022
Meeting location and who to meet with on site was sketchy with little information. When we finally found the tour group, it had been cancelled.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear M., thank you for your review. We tried to get in touch with you in several way (WhatsApp + Viator) to communicate that the tour had been moved from 9.30 a.m. to 11 a.m. but sadly we didn’t receive any asnswer. We are really sorry that you wasn’t able to enjoi our tour. We are glad to know your experience in order to improve. Thanks Kind regards Accord Team
star-5
Hillary was a great...
Kristen_P
, Jun 2022
Hillary was a great guide. It was the best way to experience the dome. The bonus is that the tickets get you into all the other parts of the church for up to 72hrs.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear K., thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed our service 😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards Accord Team
star-5
The time for this trip...
Shannon_M
, Jun 2022
The time for this trip was perfect and we had Victorian as a guide, she was so passionate and helpful! I highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear S., thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed our tour in Dome and our guide Vittoria😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards Accord Team
star-5
Fantastic views and knowledgeable guide
Cameron_S
, Jun 2022
The views from the top of the Duomo are not to be missed! You also go on the walkways inside the dome itself to see the frescoes which we also enjoyed. Hilaria was a knowledgeable and personable guide. The tour started right on time and we did not have to wait in line. I recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear C., thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed our service and our guide Ilaria 😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regard Accord Team
star-3
No skipping of lines, but great guide
Matt_H
, Jun 2022
Our guide was a 5/5, very kind and knowledgeable. Nothing bad to say about her. however, this isn't a skip the line tour (still gotta wait in the same line as everyone). Also the tour is pretty short, like an hour (just walking/climbing and standing up at the top) and just of the dome climb.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear M., thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our tour and our guide, sadly the dome complex’s rules are very strich and one hour is the maxium time of tour duration Thanks again, your opinion is important to us Kind regards Accord Team
star-4
A 'Must-Do" Experience
David_F
, Jun 2022
Scheduling the tour in advance and being able to skip the line is so important given how long the lines are for people who didn't book in advance. This climb is an absolute must-do. The history and the views are both very impressive. The ear pieces we all wore to hear the tour guide weren't good quality. The sound was muffled and with a lot of echo (as you're climbing up a small staircase surrounded by stone). I ended up turning off my ear piece and simply enjoyed the climb up, the views, the friendly tour guide, and the climb down.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear D., thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed the Dome and our guide 😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards Accord Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Rich in experience
Lex_P
, Jun 2022
This was an incredible experience, I fully and entirely recommend it to everyone!! It wasn't super sunny, but the view was still incredible in every way. The stairs up are tough, but push through for this view! My tour guide was very knowledgeable not only of the dome and it's history but also of the history of so many artists, I loved her and had a great time seeing all of Florence :)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear L. , thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed the Dome and our guide 😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards Accord Team
star-3
Beautiful
Barbara_T
, Jun 2022
I am not in shape to climb 460 steps. I thought I could do it, but unless you are in good shape, it is very hard. The people there were lovely I. Helping me return to the bottom. A great experience, but hard for the over 70, not in great shape crowd.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Barbara, thank you for your comment. We regret that you didn't have the opportunity to read the additional product information in which we warn the visitor. I quote: 'Visitors are required to climb 463 steps. No elevator available - The climb is not advised for people suffering from heart diseases/problems, vertigo and claustrophobia'. We are glad you enjoyed our service and the tour, we are sorry for the effort it took. Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-5
Very important site to visit from inside
Magdy_S
, Jun 2022
Very interesting site to visit not only from outside but more important from inside with an excellent guide like Galya. She was very informative and also very patient with people like us. We had to go all the way up to the top by stairs.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Magdy, thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed our tour in Dome and our guide Galya😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great views
scott_a
, Jun 2022
Viewing the city from the top. You can see the entire city, mountains and it doesn't get any better then that
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Scott, thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed our service and the view of Florence from the top of the Dome!😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-1
No show guide
Lauren_G
, May 2022
We went to the meeting location at the correct time, even after they messaged us and required us to change the start time of the tour, and they did not arrive. They claim they did and its our word against them so they are refusing to refund the ticket :( I was really looking forward to this trip as I hear it is a must-do in Florence.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Lauren, thank you for your review. We are sorry for your negative experience with us. The cupola Dome is the most requested site in Florence and the company which runs the Dome access can randomly change the entrance, unfortunately it doesn’t depend on us. Moreover, the Dome rules are really strict and they don’t accept delay, 5 mnt after the entrance time they just close the door. After according to our assistent report you did not show up at the required time and you could not take part at the tour. Unlike other partecipants could join the tour. We really sorry about it but the tour cannot be refund because we were charged both guide and ticket costs. Thank you for reporting and helping us to improve our service! Your opinion is always very important. Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-4
Faulty headsets
Danielle_B
, May 2022
Our guide was great. However over half of our group had faulty headphones and radios. Most people took them out because if you didn’t, the pitching noice was super loud.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Danielle, thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important.We are glad you enjoyed the Dome and our guide! Sometimes in hight season the noise in the museum can be strong and interferences can occur. Thank you for reporting and helping us to improve our service! We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-5
Worth it!
Chantal_P
, May 2022
It was difficult at first where to find our guide. However, once we did, it was great. Our guide suggested to purchase water (small ones as large ones are not allowed) and to use the toilet if needed. Our female guide (can’t remember her name) was fantastic. She had fantastic information about the Duomo Dome and kept a good pace (always ensuring that everyone on tour was ok and together). She was kind enough to snap photos of us as well.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Chantal, thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed the Dome and our guide!😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour
Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour

star-4.5241

1 hour 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$74.05

star-5224

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$101.96

star-578

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$55.81

star-5339

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$100.88

star-52

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$41.86

star-4.530

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
US$74.94

star-5138

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$138.45

star-4.5107

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
US$52.59
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations